For a dramatic entrance into the oldest part of Colonia del Sacramento go to the Port贸n de Campo, or the city gates. Originally dating back to 1745, from the time of the Portuguese governor Vasconcellos, its drawbridge was the only way to enter the city. The city gates were reconstructed between 1968 and 1971, around the ruins of the old wall and wooden drawbridge. The bronze nails on the wall mark the level left of the original wall.
Corner of Paseo San Miguel and Manuel Lobo
Colonia del Sacramento , Uruguay
Historical Building Types:
Site of historic significance
Relative price: Free
Travel Skills: None