The secular ruins of the Convento de San Francisco Javier are the only remains of one of the oldest constructions in Colonia, dating back to 1683â€“1704. Visitors are free to wander the grounds for a closer look at the stone walls still standingâ€“home to many pigeons today. At one end of the ruins, Coloniaâ€™s lighthouse, inaugurated in 1857, stands 34 meters (111.5 ft) tall. For the best views of Colonia and the river, ascending the lighthouseâ€™s 118 narrow steps to the top is a must.
EnrÃquez de la PeÃ±a and San Francisco
Colonia del Sacramento , Uruguay
Historical Building Types:
Colonial architecture, Site of historic significance, Historic architecture
Price Description: $0.80
Relative price: Budget
Open Hours from:11 a.m.
Open Hours to:8 p.m.
Travel Skills: intermediate/somewhat difficult.